PopUp WiFi scoops up 3 iAwards

The PopUp WiFi Founders (left to right) Andrew Davies, Nina McMahon and Linden Kurth showing off our iAward with our new board member and investor Lawrence Howson.


We’re a chuffed bunch after scooping three awards at the Tasmanian iAwards recently, including Startup of the Year. We’ve also been named Infrastructure & Platforms Innovation of the Year and the Business Service Markets winner.

The iAwards is Australia’s leading awards program for innovation in the digital economy. They recognise and reward the technology innovations that have the potential to, or are already having, a positive impact on the community – at home, in the office and on a global scale.

Since PopUp WiFi began in late 2014 in Hobart, Tasmania, we’re proud to say we’ve helped almost a million people connect to WiFi and promote their messages all over the globe, from São Paulo to San Francisco; from hackathons and trade shows to blockbuster conferences and festivals.

We’re thrilled to be recognised for our innovation in providing premium, portable WiFi. The whole team is pumped that our new investor, Lawrence Howson from XVT Solutions was able to join us in celebrating the iAwards. His investment is key in enabling us to accelerate our growth and develop innovative software to make event WiFi even easier for event managers. It’s also aiding us to fast-track our global expansion (next stop: California).

PopUp WiFi heads to the national iAwards in August. Watch this space.

Check out the news report on Tasmanian businesses leading the charge in technology innovation:

Tasmanian businesses are leading the charge in technology innovation, after picking up a bevy of awards at the National TasICT i-Awards ceremony on Friday night.

Posted by WIN News Tasmania on Sunday, June 4, 2017


As for our awards, they’re going straight to the poolroom, of course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *